2023 UUCC Annual Awards

2023 UUCC Annual Awards

Laurie Coltri, in the role of the Board’s 2nd Vice President, has the happy task of leading the Annual Awards, which are announced at the Annual Meeting (Sunday, June 4 this year).

Folks in the UUCC community are invited to nominate candidates in any of the categories shown below. (Someone who has previously won a UUCC Annual Award is not eligible.)

Along with a nominee’s name, please share a few sentences describing the reason you’ve nominated that person (or group). Why do they deserve this year’s award? Please email your nomination(s) to Laurie at lscoltri@verizon.net. Please feel free to attach a file if that’s your preference. The deadline for nominations is May 20.

Here are the award categories:


Given to a member who might be described as a benevolent taskmaster. Usually identified by rolled-up sleeves and a blur of activity. Gives structure to UUCC, an organism that might be little more than a multifaceted, gyrating mess if it were absent some backbone! Past awardees: Richard Gates, Mirtha McGovern, Laurie Coltri, Suzanne Henig, Ken Crandell, Liam Estell, Mary Rodgers

Generous Soul

Given to a member who regularly seizes opportunities to effect positive change in the world through very tangible charitable efforts. The generous soul is a master of inspiring others to act and marshaling what few resources are at hand and leveraging them to the greatest good. Past awardeesTina Sheets Horn, Flo Wagner, Cindy Williams, Dana Sohr, Margaret Hegmann, Ann Wing, Tim Estell

Unsung Hero

The unsung hero award is given to a member who works tirelessly in service of others without much fanfare. Often even close acquaintances are surprised to learn what an unsung hero has been up to! Past awardeesTom Monroe, Kristin Parrish-Eaton, Norm Hazzard, Melanie Milner, Jeri Wiggins, Anne Gould, Lindsay Thompson

Bright Future (Youth Award)

Given with beaming pride to a member whose actions and achievements embody our hopes and dreams for a better world in the years to come. If a bright future is possible, it will be people like you who make it happen. Past awardeesAlex Kohn, Micaela Lattimer, Gavin Kohn, Sara Chernikoff, Braidon McLaughlin, Alex Horn, Lily Bonilla

Dream Team

The members of this team have accomplished amazing, important things because of their superb ability to work together. They dependably support each other and UUCC while doing good for UUCC and the greater community. Past awardeesThe Tech Team, The Food Insecurity Team, UUCC’s Chalice Choir

Thank you! Let’s brighten the night in June for some deserving UUCC-ers!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *